new year, new blog

Hey guys!

It’s semester two of my CreComm adventure and that means a new blog topic. Instead of getting blog challenges from school, I’ll be writing about one topic throughout the semester. And that topic will be — surprise! Curling! What else do you expect?

A few of the upcoming posts are going to be about bonspiels, Q&A’s, and interviews with local elite and club curlers.

To kick it off, I’d like to give a little bit of background info on myself and the sport.

I started curling when I was ten years old. My parents had curled as well, and decided to put me in it to see if I’d like it. Gymnastics, swimming, and dance didn’t seem to stick to well, but finally something did.

Flash forward four years later and I started to play competitively with one of my best friends Whitney. Below is an embarrassing picture of us and our former team circa 2005. Yes, I had a mushroom cut.

img_9942

As the years went by, I got more and more competitive and decided I wanted to go as far as I can in the sport. I was lucky enough a couple years ago to be invited to my first Grand Slam event, which only made my love for the game grow more. In September, I had to make the difficult decision to leave the sport competitively for two years. It was one of the hardest decisions I had to make, but I’m so thankful that I did it. Not only am I in Creative Communications, a program that I love, but I get to be involved on the other side of curling. I’ve covered a few big curling events and got to interview athletes and take on-ice photos. It’s been an amazing experience, and I’m looking forward to finding out where else school will take me.

On that note, I’m excited to blog about something I’m so passionate about. Make sure to check back every week for new posts!

KK.

Leave a Reply

