unexpected changes are sometimes the best kind

Blog Challenge

I was cheering on the Goldeyes one hot summer afternoon, when I got an email from the University of Manitoba. I was rejected from the Faculty of Kinesiology. I could feel the tears welling up in my eyes, and I knew this moment was about to change my future forever. I had already been in school for five years, and suddenly felt all of that time and money was wasted.

What was I going to do? Spend even more money to redo classes? What if my grades still weren’t good enough after that?

It sounds dramatic, but this situation coupled with a few others, made it feel like my life was crumbling before my own eyes. At the time, I had a summer job at a day program working with people living with disabilities. It was a job I absolutely loved, but at the same time, I was looking forward to returning to school to graduate with a degree.

I moped around the rest of the day, and later on, faced the difficult conversation with my parents about where my future was headed. They suggested I stay in school, get a bachelor’s degree, and figure it out from there.

To me it wasn’t that simple.

I spent the next few weeks in a state of uneasiness, debating my options, and asking the opinions of others. I finally came to the decision to work full time at the day program, something that changed my life drastically – for the better.

If I had gotten into Kinesiology, maybe I would’ve graduated. Maybe not. Maybe I would’ve become a personal trainer. Maybe not. Maybe I would’ve been working in sports management… The options are endless of what could’ve happened.

The truth is, for something I thought would turn my life inside out – and it did for a while – it also turned out to be an amazing life experience. In fact, working at the day program was one of the best decisions I ever made. I worked there for over two years helping to improve the quality of other’s lives. Not only that, but I met people who opened my mind to new experiences and helped me explore my ‘creative’ side. I traveled to Chicago to go to Lollapalooza, discovered a new interest in photography, and all of that led me to applying for CreComm. Had I gotten into Kinesiology, I don’t exactly know what I would be doing right now.

And I’m 100% okay with that.

One thought on “unexpected changes are sometimes the best kind”

Leave a Reply

